Board of Directors

Kirk Johnson | Waukee Leadership Institute

Kirk Johnson

President, Class of 2012

Kirk Johnson is an Associate Superintendent with the Waukee Community School District. Kirk holds degrees from Northwestern College (BA – Business Education), University of Nebraska-Lincoln (MA – Educational Administration, Principalship), and Iowa State University (CAS – Educational Administration, Superintendency). In addition to serving public schools throughout Iowa since 1998 as a teacher, coach, and school administrator, Kirk serves on a variety of boards, elected positions, and in the community. He is a member of the Waukee CSD APEX Advisory Board, the President-Elect of School Administrators of Iowa (SAI), and the Central Iowa Large-School Representative on the Iowa High School Athletic Association (IHSAA) Representative Council. Kirk holds professional memberships with SAI and the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP). Kirk is an adjunct faculty member for Drake University and Buena Vista University. Kirk is a member of the Waukee Rotary Club and a member of Lutheran Church of HOPE. Kirk and his wife Nicole have four children who all attend Waukee Schools – Cade, Karson, Ava, and Amiah.

Tyler De Haan | Waukee Leadership Institute

Tyler De Haan

Past- President, Class of 2014

Tyler De Haan is a 2014 Waukee Leadership Institute graduate and President Award winner. He is currently a Director of Advanced Retirement Solutions at the Principal Financial Group in downtown Des Moines. He was also part of the Des Moines Busines Records class of 40 under 40 in 2014 and was a finalist for the Des Moines Juice Young Professional of The Year in 2015. Tyler is active in many community/civic activities. Tyler holds a degree in Political Science from Northwestern College in Orange City as well as a Master’s degree in Public Administration with an emphasis on finance from Drake University. He currently holds a CFP and a ChFC designations. Tyler and his wife Stacie currently reside in western Urbandale (Dallas County) with their daughter Isabelle.

Mayor Bill Peard | Waukee Leadership Institute

Mayor Bill Peard

Co-Founder, Class of 2007

The Honorable Bill Peard is the Mayor of Waukee and a co-founder and graduate of the Waukee Leadership Institute. Bill is Executive Vice President of the Iowa Cable and Telecommunications Association (ICTA) where he works with local, state, federal and community leaders on issues related to the communications industry. He also serves on several boards and committees including the Iowa Public Information Board. Bill has been the Mayor of Waukee since 2006, and prior to that spent eight years on the City Council. Bill received his Bachelors of Science Degree in Business Management from the University of Nebraska at Kearney. He and his wife Linda have two sons, Brady and Tanner, and live in Waukee.

Talia Farmer | Waukee Leadership Institute

Jenni Pierce

Board Member, Class of 2017

Jenni is a 2016-2017 graduate of the Waukee Leadership Institute.   After graduating with a BA in Finance from Iowa State University she started her career in banking in the DSM metro.  She naturally moved to management roles allowing her to exercise her leadership skills.  She currently leads State Savings Bank in West Des Moines on the business side of banking as their Commercial Cash Management Officer. She works directly with business clients building valuable relationships and enhancing their banking needs.  Her and her family reside in the Waukee School District.  If she’s not spending time with her family, working, or being involved in the community you can find her putting miles on her running shoes on the trails or treadmill.  Being a mother of 2 young children, wife of a business owner and meeting the demands of her career she finds running is the best way organize her day, keep a positive attitude and create harmony in her life.  Well, running & coffee.

Matt Klein

Board Member, Class of 2011

Matt Klein is a 2011 Graduate of the Waukee Leadership Institute. He is the Vice President of Relationship Banking for Central Bank in Waukee. Matt Graduated from the University of Iowa with degrees in Economics and Business Administration. Matt served as the President of the Waukee Area Chamber of Commerce in 2014 and has volunteered on multiple civic and non-profit volunteer organizations. Matt is married with two children. His son attends South Middle School in Waukee.

Sara Larson | Waukee Leadership Institute

Greg Means

Secretary, Class of 2016

Greg Means is a 2016 Waukee Leadership Institute graduate. Greg has a BA in Psychology and Communications from the University of Iowa where he graduated in 2004. He was also a graduate of the Iowa School of Banking in 2015 through the Iowa Bankers Association. He is currently the Assistant Branch Manager at the Bankers Trust in West Des Moines. Greg is active in the Waukee Chamber and is involved in many other community activities. He is also an active member of his church St. Pious, where his wife teaches and his kids attend school. Greg and his wife currently reside in Waukee with their daughter and son.

Chris McLinden

Board Member, Class of 2008

Chris McLinden is the President of Axis Human Capital, Inc., a national, full service, permanent search, and recruiting firm headquartered in Waukee, Iowa. Mr. McLinden has been in the human capital marketplace for over fifteen years and has presented at numerous national human capital symposiums including the Fast Company Talent Labs series ( He has been quoted in various publications including the New York Times,, The Des Moines Business Record, The Des Moines Register, and the Dallas County News on issues and trends in the labor markets in Iowa and nationwide. He has also been featured on Marketplace, a half-hour weekday program heard on almost 300 National Public Radio radio stations nationwide as well as on NPR’s Morning Edition and All Things Considered. A graduate of St Ambrose University, Davenport Iowa, Mr. McLinden has also done post graduate work at Bradley University, Peoria, IL and Harvard University, Cambridge, MA. He serves on the Board of Directors of the Rotary Club of Des Moines AM Foundation, the Business Administration Advisory Board at Des Moines Area Community College (DMACC), the Waukee Community & Economic Development Board, and is the past President of the Waukee Area Chamber of Commerce and The Rotary Club of Des Moines AM.

Terry Snyder | Waukee Leadership Institute

Terry Snyder

Board Member, Class of 2012

Terry Snyder is a 2012 Waukee Leadership Institute graduate. Terry grew up in Atlanta, GA, and Memphis, TN. She graduated from Arkansas State University in 1973 and has lived in Waukee for the past 25 years with her husband, Rick. Terry and Rick have one son, Richie, a 1996 graduate of Waukee High School. She has had a photography business in Waukee for the past 24 years, Terry Snyder Photography on SE Alice’s Road. Terry has received many awards and accolades over the years including: 2014 Waukee Citizen of the Year, 2015 Graduate of the Waukee Citizen Police Academy, 2015 Waukee YMCA Adult Volunteer of the Year and 1992 Des Moines Metro YMCA Volunteer of the Year, 2015 Waukee Leadership Institute Alumni of the Year, 2012 Waukee Leadership Institute President’s Award, two-time Waukee Area Chamber of Commerce Ambassador of the Year, two-time National Association of Professional Women as ‘”Woman of the Year,” and recently recognized by Women of Distinction Magazine as a “Distinguished Professional in Her Field.” Terry has served on many boards in Waukee including the Waukee Lions Club, Waukee Kiwanis Club, Waukee Crimestoppers, Waukee YMCA Board of Directors (12 years), Waukee Area Chamber of Commerce (2 years), and as Co-Founder and past President of the Waukee Area Historical Society. In her free time she takes care of her three grandchildren during the summer breaks.